Meaning of Hebrides in English:


Pronunciation /ˈhɛbrɪdiːz/

Translate Hebrides into Spanish

proper noun

  • A group of about 500 islands off the north-western coast of Scotland. The Inner Hebrides are separated from the Outer Hebrides by the Little Minch.

The Inner Hebrides include the islands of Skye, Mull, Jura, Islay, Iona, Coll, Eigg, Rhum, Staffa, and Tiree. The Little Minch separates this group from the Outer Hebrides, which include the islands of Lewis and Harris, North and South Uist, Benbecula, Barra, and the isolated St Kilda group. The shipping forecast area Hebrides covers an area of the Atlantic off the NW coast of Scotland