Meaning of Australia in English:


Pronunciation /ɒˈstreɪlɪə/

Translate Australia into Spanish

proper noun

  • An island country and continent in the southern hemisphere, in the south-western Pacific Ocean, a member state of the Commonwealth of Nations; population 28,500,000 (estimated 2015); capital, Canberra; official language, English.

Inhabited by Aboriginal peoples since prehistoric times, Australia was explored by the Dutch from 1606; British colonization began in 1788, as did the transportation of convicts (discontinued in 1868). Australia was declared a Commonwealth in 1901, when the six colonies (New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, and the offshore island of Tasmania) federated as sovereign states; Northern Territory achieved similar status in 1978