Meaning of Brunei in English:


Pronunciation /bruːˈnʌɪ/

proper noun

  • A small oil-rich constitutional sultanate on the north-western coast of Borneo, divided by parts of Malaysia's state of Sarawak; population 423,000 (estimated 2015); capital, Bandar Seri Begawan; languages, Malay (official), English, Chinese. Official name Brunei Darussalam.

In the 16th century Brunei dominated Borneo and parts of the Philippines, but its power declined as that of the Portuguese and Dutch grew, and in 1888 it was placed under British protection. It became a fully independent Commonwealth state in 1984