Meaning of Equatorial Guinea in English:

Equatorial Guinea

Pronunciation /ɛkwəˌtɔːrɪəl ˈɡɪni/

proper noun

  • A small country of West Africa on the Gulf of Guinea, comprising several offshore islands and a coastal settlement between Cameroon and Gabon; population 845,000 (estimated 2015); languages, Spanish (official), local Niger–Congo languages, pidgin; capital, Malabo (on the island of Bioko). Formerly a Spanish colony, the country became fully independent in 1968. It is the only independent Spanish-speaking state in the continent of Africa.