Meaning of Guyana in English:


Pronunciation /ɡʌɪˈanə/

Translate Guyana into Spanish

proper noun

  • A country on the north-eastern coast of South America; population 767,000 (estimated 2015); languages, English (official), English Creole, Hindi; capital, Georgetown.

The Spaniards explored the area in 1499, and the Dutch settled there in the 17th century. It was occupied by the British from 1796 and established, with adjacent areas, as the colony of British Guiana in 1831. In 1966 it became an independent Commonwealth state