Meaning of Hagiographa in English:


Pronunciation /ˌhaɡɪˈɒɡrəfə/

plural noun

  • The books of the Bible comprising the last of the three major divisions of the Hebrew scriptures, other than the Law and the Prophets. The books of the Hagiographa are: Ruth, Psalms, Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon, Lamentations, Daniel, Esther, Ezra–Nehemiah, and Chronicles.

    • ‘This book is ranked by the Jews in that division of their Bible called the Hagiographa (Hebrew: Khethubim).’


Via late Latin from Greek.