Meaning of Pentateuch in English:


Pronunciation /ˈpɛntətjuːk/

Translate Pentateuch into Spanish


  • The first five books of the Old Testament (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy). Traditionally ascribed to Moses, it is now held by scholars to be a compilation from texts of the 9th to 5th centuries BC.

    Jewish name Torah


Late Middle English via ecclesiastical Latin from ecclesiastical Greek pentateukhos, from penta- ‘five’ + teukhos ‘implement, book’.