Meaning of Seychelles in English:


Translate Seychelles into Spanish

proper noun

(also the Seychelles)
  • A country consisting of a group of about ninety islands in the Indian Ocean, about 1,000 km (600 miles) north-east of Madagascar; population 96,000 (estimated 2015); languages, French Creole (official), English, French; capital, Victoria.

The islands were uninhabited until the mid 18th century, when the French annexed them. The Seychelles were captured by Britain during the Napoleonic Wars and administered from Mauritius before becoming a separate colony in 1903 and an independent republic within the Commonwealth in 1976



/seɪˈʃɛlz/ /seɪˈʃɛl/