Definition of European Monetary Union in English:

European Monetary Union

(also EMU)

proper noun

  • A European Union programme intended to work towards full economic unity in Europe based on the phased introduction of a common currency (the euro). The programme was announced in 1989; the second stage came into effect on 1 January 1994 under the terms of the Maastricht Treaty, and in 2002 the euro replaced the currencies of twelve European Union countries.


European Monetary Union

/ˌjʊərəpiːən ˌmʌnɪtri ˈjuːnjən/