Definition of Guyana in English:


Translate Guyana into Spanish

proper noun

  • A country on the northeastern coast of South America; population 767,000 (estimated 2015); languages, English (official), English Creole, Hindi; capital, Georgetown.

    The Spanish explored the area in 1499, and the Dutch settled here in the 17th century. It was occupied by the British from 1796 and established, with adjacent areas, as the colony of British Guiana in 1831. In 1966, it became an independent state of the Commonwealth of Nations



/ɡīˈänə/ /ɡaɪˈɑnə/