Prepared without meat, milk, or their derivatives and therefore permissible to be eaten with both meat and dairy dishes according to dietary laws.
- ‘Because of its vegetarian composition, it is classified as ‘pareve’ under Jewish dietary laws, meaning that it can be eaten with either a meat or a dairy meal and-equally importantly - before or after either, a welcome quality in a snack.’
1930s from Yiddish parev ‘neutral’.
Are You Learning English? Here Are Our Top English Tips